DAY 1 – Questions are hard

Assumptions

Today I started Design 437, also known as Integrated Media for Communication. I took this course because I wanted to explore interactivity in design and improve my skills with research and design methodologies!

When we were first given our project for next 3 weeks, I asked myself what is endoscopy and why does that sound invasive and gross? I also asked myself how will my final outcome improve the experience of the patient/operation of the clinic?

My assumptions and experiences with hospitals are about as negative as they can get. The environment feels clinical (the smells of a hospital make my sinuses sting), people are anxious all the time, and one could expect a large amount of complex information in one visit. But that’s a good place to start right? Either these assumptions are will be proven mostly true through research, or the design process will involve breaking down these assumptions in order to improve experiences with the patient and clinic.

We discussed questions we had about the UofA hospital and endoscopy with Patrick. Although this was fairly informal, I felt coming up with the right wording for questions was extremely hard in order to get a thorough and well thought out response. Initially I was interested in the extremities of the patient demographic (children or seniors) and how endoscopy differed between them and the average patient (how great is the gap between procedures?). I also thought about the success rate of procedures and the relation between that and the patient’s responsibility of after care (how important is it?).

We then started forming a semi formal interview as a class for Dr Clarence Wong tomorrow morning. Interviews are intimidating to me; mostly because of the preparation needed to ask good questions. Out of the 5 primer questions we are asking (with follow-up questions of course);

  • Demographic
  • Ideal/Worst Patient
  • Patient Flow
    • Education
    • Risks
    • Baseline
  • Sedation
  • Environment/Patient Experience

I will be asking Dr. Wong about sedation with endoscopy procedures. Doing a small amount of research I found that “conscious sedation” was the most common practice in order to keep the patient conscious as well as keep them from experiencing anxiety. So far I have:

  • What are the pros and cons of sedation? (could be answered by research)
  • In what cases are sedation most commonly used or not used at all?
  • When is the option for sedation presented?
  • Anxiety about discomfort is a main concern for most patients. Do you think conscious sedation would be beneficial in most situations and out weigh the cons?

I will keep forming different questions around this topic until I arrive upon something where a desired, thorough response for design intervention may occur!!

Also my favourite doodle I drew today:

A small creature with many concerns.

A small creature with many concerns.

Leave a Reply

